Limitations on Dcounta

speric07

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
10
Hi,

I was wondering whether there were any limitations on using a Dcounta, currently I have seven filters all working I try to add an eigth one but it does not work.

I have tried more than once, the code/formula's are exactly the same.

The only thing I can think of is that there is a limit like with nested IF's.

Please can any one confirm? If so does anyone know a work around.

Many thanks :oops:
 

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).

speric07

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
10
Sorry,

Here it is,

=Dcounta(alldatafromstatus,"Total Score",upto0)

alldatafromstatus = Looks at another sheet in the workbook
totalscore = a field in alldatafromstatus
upto0 = the criteria

The formula has been working it is just on the eigth filter it does not work.

Many thanks
 

speric07

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
10

ADVERTISEMENT

it refers to the criteria that the dcounta loks up.

The code is the same, the layout is the same it just seems there is a limit in Excel.

My dcounta table is 15 columns across so there are 15 criteria ranges being looked up.

Thanks
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
I mean what does the name upto0 refer to in the Define Name dialog box (Insert|Name|Define) - when your formula works and when it no longer works?
 

speric07

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
10

ADVERTISEMENT

upto0 is still including all the columns.

I have been inserting the columns from inside the named range so the new filters are still included, without having to redefine the named range.

The only difference is

=sheet1!$W$4:$AK$5 works

=sheet1!$W$4:$AM$5 does not work
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
Sorry, this is still very unclear. Originally you said "I have seven filters all working I try to add an eigth one but it does not work". But W:AK is 15 columns and W:AM is 17 columns.

And in what way doesn't it work?
 

speric07

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
10
Hi, it worked at home last night, so I assume it is a system limitation on my work PC/Lack of.

Thanks for your willingness to help though Andrew.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,678
Messages
5,707,780
Members
421,527
Latest member
Tamiwsw

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top