Lines of code getting stripped when uploaded to cloud storage?

Dix_Fix

Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi I am fairly new to coding though I can't figure what I'm doing wrong.
I have a functioning userform based .pdf lookup VBA code.
It all works fine within my computer.
My problem is when I upload it to Google Drive, then download it to try it out.
I loose a line of code from my ThisWorkbook Sub, which is (when downloaded by a user) to create a desktop icon/shortcut upon request on their system.
I have been through my Norton and all seems to be fine there.
I would love to be pointed toward what I'm doing wrong.

Attachments

• MR_Excel.png
    MR_Excel.png
    100.9 KB · Views: 15

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

I don't think that you are doing something wrong as I am not aware of any OS method that would remove that line selectively from your code.

However, the first thing that I would try in such a case would be uploading a renamed file to the Drive as it might be a sync issue on the cloud. Maybe the initial workbook was uploaded without that particular code line and the future uploads didn't sync properly?

Upvote 0
Solution
Side question: Is there any macro in the project that alters the code itself after opening the workbook to avoid the shortcut creation after the initial file opening? If that's the case, and if the file is opened in the Drive folder directly, then it might be overwritten after this self-change and the future downloader might be downloading the changed workbook.

Upvote 0