List

paitchison

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2003
Messages
10
I am a relative beginner at Excel (compare to many that inhabit this board). I am setting up a 'Snack Shack' "point of sale / order fill" spreadsheet to be used in our church kitchen (Holy Grille). I need all of the relevent current information to remain visible on the main screen.

I am using Excel 97, and a Winows 98 PII laptop computer with a remote monitor and wireless mouse. This allows the cook staff to enter data when orders are filled.

My problem is that the "List" function (Data/Valadation/list/source) will not work above the Window/Freeze pane. It works perfectly below the Window/Freeze pane. Can the "List" function be enabled to work above Window/Freeze pane as well as below?

The spreadsheet is working out just fine otherwise.

Many Thanks Paul
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).

paitchison

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2003
Messages
10
Okay.... Is there a work around, update or fix available to this anomally. A solution would surely make life easier for the kitchen staff at The Holy Grille.
 

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
Can you maybe split the screen rather than freezing it? I don't actually know if this will solve the problem, but I believe the 97 issue only relates to when the pane is freezed.

Failing that, upgrading to a later version of Excel would solve it.

Best regards

Richard
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
47,508
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

paitchison

Welcome to the Mr Excel board!

As far as I know there is no 'perfect' solution, but some possibilities are:

1. Can you move the Freeze Panes down a bit more to allow room for the drop-down?

2. Can you move the drop-down up any further (eg from row 4 to row 1)?

3. Combination of 1 and 2.

4. The other solution that I have seen used (using VBA) is when the drop-down cell is selected, remove the Freeze Panes and when the drop-down cell is de-selected, re-apply the freeze panes. If this seems like a possibility for you, post back and I am sure one of the VBA gurus will be able to help with this.

5. Upgrade to a newer version of Excel.
 

paitchison

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2003
Messages
10
Thanks people. I've opted to use split screen. While not 100% what I was after, it will do just fine. Thanks again.

Another newbie question. How can I get Excel to beep on a given cell?
My cook staff are after me to notify them when a new order is placed.
 

Joe Was

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
7,539

ADVERTISEMENT

Just add this to the Sheet Module for the Sheet that you want it to beep on!

Workbook Sheet Tabs: Right Click, Select: "View Code" and Paste a copy of this code in that code module.

To return to your Sheet select the upper-most-Right-Close X



Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Beep
End Sub
 

paitchison

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2003
Messages
10
Thanks Joe.
Can I limit it to a single and or designated multiple individual cels?
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,119,002
Messages
5,575,503
Members
412,671
Latest member
xcihan
Top