Locking a number from resetting to zero

SpikeL

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Good afternoon. first post.
I am by no means an expert but i can do the basics in Excel (2016). i have created a simple data capture sheet that is used weekly in a briefing (copied and pasted to PowerPoint). On the left i have a list of activities (A5-A11). Columns B5-11 and C5-11 represent the previous month (i input numbers for two separate activities) Columns D,E, represent the current with F,G representing the future.B-G 12 represent a total of each of the above while B13 and 14 would be a 'rolling' total of D,E 13 respectively (with the raw data being taken from D,E as my current month).
I hope that kind of makes sense? what i am trying to achieve is that B13 and 14 remain the accumulative (rolling) totals so when i remove the numbers from D&E 5-11, it doesn't affect the total (but only if i have to adjust a number say from 5 to 4)

ill see if i can upload an image.

Attachments

• Untitled2.jpg
    Untitled2.jpg
    177.6 KB · Views: 11

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Hi,

Welcome to the Board!

1) The spreadsheet software has no method to understand by itself the difference between adjusting a few numbers in D5:E11, and adjusting all of them one by one, to get the values for the next period.
2) Therefore there must be a special method to tell the spreadsheet "I am doing adjustments now" and "I am moving to the next period now", and the reactions to changes in each case should be different.
3) That being said, I can do this using formulas and circular references. It will work, but I do not recommend it, because it is a fragile mechanism, relatively sensitive to human errors. Therefore I think VBA is the technology to use, but this is not my area.

J.Ty.

Upvote 0
Hi,

Welcome to the Board!