Looking for help with combinations problem in Excel 07

fantasyfootballguy

Hello,

I have a fairly complex (to me at least) problem that I am working on and I'm fairly certain there are ways to have excel do the work for me, but I'm a novice and don't know how to go about it. What I am trying to do is list all the possible combinations (or maybe permutations, I'm not entirely clear on the difference) of 8 items (QB, QB2, WR, WR2, WR3, RB, RB2, RB3). I have searched around on the board, and found many threads of people looking for similar solutions, but none with the specific parameters I have.

The 8 items are 8 different positions picked in a fantasy football draft in rounds 1-8. So it is 2 quarterbacks, and 3 each of wide receivers and running backs. So what I am looking to do is first list out all of the possible orders that these positions could be selected. Then assign values to each position within certain rounds in the draft (for example, the QBs available in round 1 are worth an average of 350 pts, while WRs in round 1 are worth on average 250 pts). Using if/then formulas I can have excel compute the potential total value for each possible order of draft selections and there-by determine the best order to draft these positions. The second part (the if/then part) I know how to do, but I don't know how to have excel generate the combinations for me.

So essentially what I am looking for is to find a way to have excel generate all the potential combinations of those 8 selections but any formula would need to have rules in place so that the 2nd or 3rd selection of a position always comes after the 1st or 2nd. For example below is an example of a possible option and an option that is not needed-

Acceptable-
QB, QB2, WR, WR2, WR3, RB, RB2, RB3

Not necessary-
QB2, QB, WR3, WR2, WR, RB3, RB2, RB