Losing Excel 2007 Ribbon with MSVDM

markdibley

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3
Hello

This is a bit of an annoyance for me and is probably not very common. I use Microsoft Virtual Desktop Manager which gives me 4 different desktops to switch between.

When I am using Excel 2007 and I switch desktops, when I return all the menus/ribbon has gone so all I am left with is the spreadsheet and formula bar. (I used to use ctrl+1,2,3,4 to switch desktops. Now I use WinKey+1,2,3,4).

Is there any way to force Excel either to retain the ribbon or to reactivate it?

As I said, it's a rare one, but any advice would be great. Thanks
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.

markdibley

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3
:)

I see a few people have read this thread, but no-one has suggested a solution. I worry I may not have explained things clearly so if there is any other information you think might be helpful please let me know.

Thanks
 

xenou

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
16,670
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
Not sure - there is a choice to "show" or "hide" the ribbon. Is that all that's involved. Unfortunately, no experience with Windows desktop manager. Do MS provide that at its site or do you have to buy it?

Alex
 

ZVI

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
3,676
Is this what you are after?
Rich (BB code):
Sub Hide_Unhide_Ribbons()
Application.SendKeys ("^{F1}")
End Sub

Sub HideRibbon()
Application.ExecuteExcel4Macro "SHOW.TOOLBAR(""Ribbon"",False)"
End Sub

Sub ShowRibbon()
Application.ExecuteExcel4Macro "SHOW.TOOLBAR(""Ribbon"",True)"
End Sub
May be you touch Ctrl-F1 instead of Ctrl-1?
If so just do Ctrl-F1 ones more.
 
Last edited:

markdibley

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3
Hello

I tried this and Ctrl-F1 does work and un/hides the ribbon.

Sadly, however, Ctrl-F1 does not restore the ribbon after switching between desktops.

I suspect it is a focus issue as I have focus problems that effect the context menu on Firefox when I switch between desktops

Thanks

Mark
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,303
Messages
5,486,061
Members
407,530
Latest member
Shameem Khan

This Week's Hot Topics

Top