losing formula when data is entered into cell

Kdilas

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
100
Hello Everyone,
I have a formula in cell A4 that multiplies cell A1,A2 & A3 together but if data is entered into the cell I lose the formula. Is there any way to get around this.

Thanks
kdilas
 

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi Kdilas
Board Regular

You might try protecting the cells that you want to safe guard.

Are you trying to protect only the formula cell or the range that is applies?
pll
This message was edited by plettieri on 2002-10-26 08:20
 

Kdilas

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
100
I would like to give the user the option to enter dtat directly into cell or let the worksheet figure out the answer for them.
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi:


Questions about your query...

What cell/s do you want the user to be able to enter data into? What is it that you want the worksheet to figure out?

pll
 

Kdilas

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
100
Cells A1,A2 & A3 are multiplied together and then multiplied by .283 to figure out weight of a square plate of steel. The answer is placed in cell A4 which contains the formula. If the plate is not square I would like to be able to enter the weight directly into cell A4 without losing the formula. Sizes and plate configuration change quite frequently and we may need to use the formula again later. The answer from cell A4 is also used on several other sheets.
 

indiantrix

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2002
Messages
943
Insert a blank row above your current cell A4. Then enter this formula in A5:
=IF(ISBLANK(A4),A3*A2*A1*0.283,A4)
The user has the option of accepting what's in A5, or he may manually enter a value into A4, which will automatically be reflected in A5, an override value.
Then protect cell A5, and that should do it.
/s/ Larry
This message was edited by indiantrix on 2002-10-26 10:19
This message was edited by indiantrix on 2002-10-26 10:23
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,330
Messages
5,723,740
Members
422,512
Latest member
MHau5

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top