Macro Change Cell Dropdown, Create PDF, Choose Next Dropdown, Repeat

Bries

Hello,

I want to automate the process for creating weekly reports. In cell A1 I have a list of 10 departments in a dropdown menu. The rest of the calculations refer to that dropdown to return relevant performance information.

Right now I select Dept 1 in the dropdown menu, save as PDF, select department 2, save as PDF, and repeat for the 10 departments. I can't just create 10 tabs due to issues that are irrelevant to excel.

Is there some macro that can be created that will perform this process for me? It seems like this question was asked at the link below but I don't understand what or how it works, or if it even did end up working. I'm not very experienced in VBA at all: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-questions/781111-macro-change-name-cell-print-pdf-repeat.html

Is anyone able to walk me through how to solve this?

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
OK, I think I understand what you're looking for and took a stab at a solution.

Code:
Sub ValidationList_PDFPrint()
'Created By:    AFPathfinder
'Created On:    11/21/2017
'Modified On:
'Created For:   Bries
'code example source(s):
'   [URL]https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-questions/781111-macro-change-name-cell-print-pdf-repeat.html[/URL]
'   [URL]https://stackoverflow.com/questions/30603004/iterate-through-an-excel-dropdown-validation-list[/URL]
'------------------------------------------------------------------

Dim inputRange As Range
    Dim cell As Range

Set inputRange = Evaluate(Range("A1").Validation.Formula1)

For Each cell In inputRange
        Range("A1").Value = cell.Value

ActiveSheet.ExportAsFixedFormat Type:=xlTypePDF, Filename:= _
            "C:\Users" & Environ("USERNAME") & "\Desktop" & Range("A1").Text & ".pdf", _