Macro for linking cell to an image

Dunca1

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Guys,

I'm new to this forum so apologies if this questions has been answered or it's a trivial question. I have searched the forum and google and have been unable to find a decent solution but this could be because I'm not searching using the correct terms etc.

I have a load of images I need to link to images in an excel file and so far I've been hyperlinking them manually which is taking ages. Is there a way to run a macro to automatically link the cell to a specific image based on some information in the row that the cell is situated on?

Extra question that doesn't need to be answered

I thought I might as well ask this question whilst I'm here but obviously feel free to skip this as it's just a general question. I'm a recent mechanical engineering graduate and never had a need to use VBA but I absolutely love excel (as I'm sure all you do and all engineers do) and would like to learn more for personal interest and for streamlining a lot of processes in my graduate role. Where should I start with this? Books, video courses etc. would be an ideal start where examples are used that I can follow for my own projects. But, if you have other suggestions I'm open.

Thank you everyone, Duncan.

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Hi,
Welcome on board of MrExcel!?
Let me start with your first question. It’s possible to have a macro that would create a hyperlink to he image file located in some directory. I assume you store files in a folder on a drive, right? To create a hyperlink it required to know a the folder/folder directory where the file is stored and file name including file extension (if you use one file extension it can be hardcoded). Do you have one foder where you keep images or more?

regards,
Sebastian

Upvote 0
Hi,
Welcome on board of MrExcel!?