Macro for Merging Excel Files in One Workbook with Overwriting

njpamdnc

Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Mr. Excel...My name is Robert, and I am a middle school math teacher who wants to merge multiple Excel files into a single workbook. Furthermore, I need the macro to replace/overwrite current files/worksheet tabs with new files/worksheet tabs that have the same name. I have read several similar posts in the message forum. However, I couldn't find information regarding replacing/overwriting. The following macro works terrific with the exception of not replacing/overwriting old data with new data:

Sub MergeExcelFiles()
Dim fnameList, fnameCurFile As Variant
Dim countFiles, countSheets As Integer
Dim wksCurSheet As Worksheet
Dim wbkCurBook, wbkSrcBook As Workbook

fnameList = Application.GetOpenFilename(FileFilter:="Microsoft Excel Workbooks (*.xls;*.xlsx;*.xlsm),*.xls;*.xlsx;*.xlsm", Title:="Choose Excel files to merge", MultiSelect:=True)

If (vbBoolean <> VarType(fnameList)) Then

If (UBound(fnameList) > 0) Then
countFiles = 0
countSheets = 0

Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.Calculation = xlCalculationManual

Set wbkCurBook = ActiveWorkbook

For Each fnameCurFile In fnameList
countFiles = countFiles + 1

Set wbkSrcBook = Workbooks.Open(Filename:=fnameCurFile)

For Each wksCurSheet In wbkSrcBook.Sheets
countSheets = countSheets + 1
wksCurSheet.Copy after:=wbkCurBook.Sheets(wbkCurBook.Sheets.Count)
Next

wbkSrcBook.Close SaveChanges:=False

Next

Application.ScreenUpdating = True
Application.Calculation = xlCalculationAutomatic

MsgBox "Processed " & countFiles & " files" & vbCrLf & "Merged " & countSheets & " worksheets", Title:="Merge Excel files"
End If

Else
MsgBox "No files selected", Title:="Merge Excel files"
End If
End Sub

Attachments

• screenshot.png
    screenshot.png
    201.6 KB · Views: 56
I want you to help me clear up some confusion about the following information: