Macro in Access

billykiller05

I am new to access and I would like to write a macro to run a query. I receive a file each month so I need to be able to change the table for which the query is ran. I need some help getting started.

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
How is the new data each month put in Access? Imported? Linked?

Essentially, I think you would want to continue to put the data in the same table every time, then you can run the same query every time. Then it is just a matter of importing the data.

Perhaps you can tell us a little more about the whole process?

Upvote 0
It is imported from a text file into a new table. We have to keep each month seperate.
You probably don't want to do this, it is considered to not be good database form. A simple example can show why.

Let's say that you have 24 months of data, hence 24 tables. Now let's say that you wanted to look for a specific record, but you don't know what month it is in. You would have to write 24 queries!

Another example, let's say that you wanted to add up all the records across all months for a certain ID. Once again, you would have to write 24 queries (or a query with 24 unions)!

As you can see, it can cause a lot of unnecessary work.

The better way to do it is to add a field to your one main table that has some sort of month/date identifier. That way, all your records are in one table, but can easily by queried out by month.

If it is too hard to add this field to the data being imported in, here is how I would do that:
1. Import your data into a "Temporary Table"
2. Create an "Append Query" that takes the records from your "Temporary Table" and moves them to your "Main Table" while at the same time populating your MonthID field (through a calculated field).

Upvote 0