macro not working on some computers

Babynana

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
7
Hello, I'm new to everything. We had a person that use to work for us that wrote some macros to scrape information from Rocket Software's Bluezone. Last Tuesday, most of the computers wouldn't let the excel script run. There were 3 that would. One a new desktop, one an older desktop and my laptop. On the ones that it isn't working on, it is like the excel sheet doesn't connect to the bluezone anymore. I have looked at every setting I can think of and they all appear to be the same with all the same trusts. I received an overflow error but it looks like all the integers are already changed to LONG which is something I read with overflow errors. Any one have an ideas I can try? Thank You
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
51,147
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Some of the computers may be missing needed libraries.
Go to a computer where it DOES work, and go into the VB Editor, and then go to the Tools menu,and select References.
Note all the references that are selected.

Now, do the same on a computer where it is not working, and see if all the same libraries are selected. If not, you may need to find them in the list and select them.
 

Babynana

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
7
Some of the computers may be missing needed libraries.
Go to a computer where it DOES work, and go into the VB Editor, and then go to the Tools menu,and select References.
Note all the references that are selected.

Now, do the same on a computer where it is not working, and see if all the same libraries are selected. If not, you may need to find them in the list and select them.



Thank you for the response.

I did that. They are all checked accept on the ones that do not work it says something like Microsoft excel 16 objects. The ones that do work show the same except 14 objects.

Hmmm. Not sure what that means or how to change it.
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
51,147
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
It sounds like the one that does work is user newer versions of Excel (and the ones that don't work are using older versions).
It is possible that you are using some newer functionality that is not available on lower versions.
Whenever creating Excel files that are going to be used by people using different versions of Excel, it is typically best to create it on the oldest version of Excel. The newer versions can usually run the older versions without problems, but the same cannot always be said about the opposite.
 

Babynana

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
7
It sounds like the one that does work is user newer versions of Excel (and the ones that don't work are using older versions).
It is possible that you are using some newer functionality that is not available on lower versions.
Whenever creating Excel files that are going to be used by people using different versions of Excel, it is typically best to create it on the oldest version of Excel. The newer versions can usually run the older versions without problems, but the same cannot always be said about the opposite.
My laptop has the same version, office 2016. The older desk top doesn’t it has 2010 with a version of 14 point something. I have other computers like the old one and can’t get it to run on them either. . It was created two years ago and been working fine until last week. I know we received some type of Microsoft patch the Thursday before it went to heck.
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
51,147
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Not really sure. It is hard to try to debug code you cannot see.
Have you tried stepping through the code line-by-line (using the F8 button) to see where things might be going awry?
 

Babynana

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
7
I will try that. I'll sit my laptop next to one that isn't working and go line for line. It doesn't even try and start the bluezone scrape. It is supposed to clear the screen first and on the ones it doesn't work on, it doesn't do anything. It's like it has lost connectivity to the bluezone. Which I wonder if that has anything to do with objects that is in the reference area. Like 2 extra objects were added and it goes there first and then doesn't come back. thanks for the ideas
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
17,972
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
AND
when / if you find lines of code that don't comply, post the code back here with those lines highlighted, so we can maybe help with a solution !
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
51,147
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Sounds like their could be a connection to BlueZone issue, which may not have anything to do with the code, but may be some computer settings.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,078,230
Messages
5,338,972
Members
399,274
Latest member
WilliamWavehill

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

Top