Macro recording is missing steps

Linda G

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Good afternoon!

Before I start, full disclosure, I am a total VBA/macro noob!

I have a spreadsheet containing several sheets. I cobbled together a VBA code I found on the internet, which is posted in the tab code, to change the tab colour depending on a value in a cell D1 of each sheet. The tab colours currently get updated by right clicking on the first tab name, view code, and then selecting "Run" and "Run sub/user form" from the menu in that window.

The spreadsheet is not going to be used by myself, so I want to make it as automatic as possible. I tried to make a macro to record all the updating steps, but I have found that nothing registers as soon as I right click the tab name..

Could someone kindly let me know what I have done wrong, or what I need to do to automate the process?

Very many thanks

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
Your code is probably in a regular module, what happens when you press Alt + F11

Upvote 0
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

Cross-posting (posting the same question in more than one forum) is not against our rules, but the method of doing so is covered by #13 of the Forum Rules.

Be sure to follow & read the link at the end of the rule too!

Cross posted at: Macro recording is missing steps
If you have posted the question at more places, please provide links to those as well.

If you do cross-post in the future and also provide links, then there shouldn’t be a problem.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

Cross-posting (posting the same question in more than one forum) is not against our rules, but the method of doing so is covered by #13 of the Forum Rules.

Be sure to follow & read the link at the end of the rule too!

Cross posted at: Macro recording is missing steps