Macro to attach file to document

mrhoden

Hi,

I'm new to VBA and I'm attempting to find a macro that will allow me to attach a file to my workbook. I found this code on this forum, but it appears to only link to a file path, rather than actually attaching the document.

Code:
Sub Button14_Click()

Dim strFilename As String
Dim strShortName As String

strFilename = Application.GetOpenFilename("All Documents (*.*), *.*")

If strFilename = "False" Then
    Exit Sub ' user cancelled
End If

strShortName = InputBox("What do you want to call this link?", "Short Text", strFilename)

ActiveSheet.Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=Range("D36"), Address:=strFilename, TextToDisplay:=strShortName

End Sub

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

(By the way, did I put the correct tags around the VB??)

Regards,

Marty

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Hi and welcome to the forum. You got the code tags right :).

AFAIK Excel doesn't support attaching a file to a workbook.

Although the file format (post xl2007) is really a ZIP container it enforces the content quite strictly so I don't think you could even embed the file in the container.

If you really need the file to be accessed from a workbook sent to an outside location then I suggest using a hyperlink to the file shared from a cloud storage site (e.g.Box).

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply, Teeroy.

That's a shame. I'm trying to create a userform where teachers can leave work for replacement teachers. I've created all of the other fields, but if the teacher wants to leave a worksheet to be printed, copied and handed out, they currently have to leave this in a tray somewhere... I even had a macro to auto email the students, so this really would have solved all of our problems! Oh well...

I don't suppose you could suggest anything??

Thanks again.

Upvote 0