Macro to populate sheets

lanefra

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello, I'm fairly new at macros and I need some help!

I have a sheet that's made of column heads and the data below it. I need to create a new sheet that is named for the column head, and populate those sheets with the data located under the column name. However, in the column there are empty slots which need to be filtered out. In addition, I need to keep the MP column and have that added to each sheet.
I have tried recording macros but it is not general enough so that if the column heads have different names, it will still work.
I realise this is a complicated project and I am welcome to any suggested solutions.
Thank you!

Attachments

• ExcelMacro.PNG
    ExcelMacro.PNG
    54.7 KB · Views: 11

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
Hi. Try adding the below to a normal module. This will loop through row 1 and create sheets named with each column header. The main data will be copied to this new sheet in whole. In the new sheet, each column will be deleted if it doesn't match the new sheet's name. Likewise, each row with a blank will be deleted.

VBA Code:
Option Explicit

Sub FillSheets()

Dim ws As Worksheet: Set ws = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Data") '<- update to actual sheet name
Dim wsRow As Long: wsRow = ws.Cells(ws.Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row 'finds lrow of ws in column 1
Dim wsCol As Integer: wsCol = ws.Cells(1, ws.Columns.Count).End(xlToLeft).Column 'finds last column of ws in row 1
Dim c As Range 'variable for loop
Dim nWS As Worksheet 'variable for new sheet

For Each c In ws.Range(ws.Cells(1, 3), ws.Cells(1, wsCol)).Cells 'loops through row 1 column headers
    If c.Value <> "" Then
        ws.UsedRange.Copy 'copies ws
        Sheets.Add After:=Sheets(Sheets.Count) 'adds new sheet at end of workbook
        ActiveSheet.Name = c.Value 'new sheet is named after column header