Making command button insert data into next cell without activating cell

bantrybay

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi folks,

I am like a lot of other posters on here an absolute novice when it comes to Excel and VBA's, Macro's etc.... but i find myself in a position where i am required to make a easy system for tracking orders. The shown table will be copied hundreds of times in 1 excel sheet and after the table is marked done we will manually cut it out of the sheet and paste it into another folder for archiving purposes so the cell numbers will change. What i am trying to do is make it so that when the other person clicks on the DONE button it inputs the date and time automatically in the cell under the DONE button. But again as the cell numbers will be different in each table i can't assign a cell number for it, is there a way for this to be done. The same is also required for the Delivery and Collect buttons i have on the table. My plan for this would be whichever one is clicked shows up in the cell to the right of the buttons. I hope i explained myself in a somewhat clear manner but if not please let me know. And apologies if this has been shown before, i couldn't find it.

Any help with this would be greatly apprecaited
BB

Attachments

• table1.png
    table1.png
    9.6 KB · Views: 46

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
quick cheat,

1. Enter a reference hidden under your button, Im using the string "Anchorrefpoint") as it is very unlikely it will be found anywhere in a worksheet. then use find and address to get the cell reference of the anchor:
2. set the address to a string variable
3. use offset to get the correct cell and use Now enter the date and time

VBA Code:
Dim x As String
x = Sheets("sheet1").Range("A1:ZZ10000").Find("Anchorrefpoint").Address
Range(x).Offset(1, 0).Value = Now

Hope that helps.

Tom

Upvote 0