Making Folder and Subfolder Search Recursive - Finding File Name matching Cell and Getting Path

qathydana

Hello,

I've been working on this for hours, and I'm ready to ask for help. I'm a relative VBA beginner, and have been teaching myself over the past month.

I know exactly what steps I want this program to take, but am having trouble implementing those steps in a way that is concise, because I know that there is probably a way to make the code recursive so that I don't have to repeat so much of it, but I'm not sure what that way is and I'm having trouble finding a solution that fits elsewhere.

I have tried making multiple layers of conditional loops, but the problem is that I don't know in advance how many file names the column of file names will have. I want there to be two columns -- one with the file names, and one for the file paths to be filled in once VBA finds a file. I also don't know in advance how many levels of folders the function will have to search before it finds the file, but the file names ARE unique, and the extensions will be included. Essentially, I don't know what folder the file will be in, but I know it is somewhere, and I know that the parent sPath folder I provide contains it.

So:

I'm trying to create a recursive VBA function that will look in a provided folder (called in the sub as "sPath"), check to see if any of the files match the file name in a cell provided in my excel sheet, and then if not, check within all of the subfolders as well (in other words, I want the process to repeat for any number of "subfolder layers" so to speak). Once it finds a match, I want it to put the folder path into the cell to the left of it, and then go down one row to the next cell with a file name and repeat the process. The process as I have it set up currently calls the function from within a sub (see bottom of posted code).