Making hidden Access sessions visible.

petertenthije

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
241
We have a computer that is used exclusively to run automated processes using windows taskplanner and VBS scripts.

This computer also opens Access databases to update them. Some of these are running in the background, with the Access session not visible.

With Windows Taskmanager I can see that one (or more) MSACCESS.EXE *32 sessions are running. But I can't open this session using Taskmanager. When I right-mouseclick I can select "Open location" (or something like it, translating from Dutch)... but that only shows the location of the Access program, not the specific database. Same when opening properties.

Is there a way to unhide these Access sessions, so I can see which specific databases are running?

I know it is possible to do so for hidden Excel sessions (code: Getobject(, "Excel.Application").Visible = true in VBA>Immediate screen), but for Access I am at a loss.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.

Trevor G

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
6,701
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
This YouTube video may help it does suggest an app called TrayIT
which also means you can access what's running form the system tray and activate it.
 

petertenthije

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
241
Thanks for your suggestion, but I am not sure that's going to work for me. My IT department is rather strict on installing software and apps.
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
36,480
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
I know it is possible to do so for hidden Excel sessions (code: Getobject(, "Excel.Application").Visible = true in VBA>Immediate screen), but for Access I am at a loss.

Why can't you do the same for Access?
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
36,480
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
It works for me. What version of Access are you running?
 

petertenthije

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
241

ADVERTISEMENT

I think it’s 2016, I’ll check tomorrow when I’m at the office.
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
36,480
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
I tested with 2016 and it worked for me. (Of course if you have an existing instance of Access visible, it will likely just make that visible again)
 

Micron

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
2,058
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
If you can't alter the code that opens the db hidden, then since you're looking in Task Manager anyway, just get the db name there?
 

petertenthije

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
241
If you can't alter the code that opens the db hidden, then since you're looking in Task Manager anyway, just get the db name there?
In the task manager you can not see the name of the database. Only that Acces is running.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,127,795
Messages
5,626,926
Members
416,209
Latest member
tan21

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top