Mandatory cells? Or highlight blank cells in rows with data?

Dz1na

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. MacOS
I'm very new to Excel formulas and really struggling. I'm creating a spreadsheet which lists items and their specifications. Eg. column A has the item name, B has the size, C has the file type, D is the due date etc. I want to make sure that if people add an item that they fill out ALL the specs for that item, not leaving any blanks. (There are a couple of columns that can be blank, like the notes column, but most are required.)

Is there a way to make cells mandatory? Or warn when the user tries to save/close the file with missing information? If not, what's the best alternative? I've seen other people suggest using conditional logic to highlight blank cells, but I'm not sure how to limit that to ONLY the rows that contain an item (since the list may grow or shrink with items being removed or added). Any advice appreciated!

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
This is a very quick and simple solution (there are more elegant solutions). This simply holds a formula in Column A that checks there is something in columns B,C,D and E and labels the row as Valid or not. Conditional formatting has been applied to help the user. If the range is defined as a table then any new row added will automatically include the formula in column A

Book1
ABCDE
1Check ColumnNameSizeFile TypeDue Date
2Valid EntryFred12XYZ30/01/2020
3Missing ValuesBertABC05/08/2020
4Valid EntryHarry14jkl06/09/2020
5Missing Values1809/08/2020
Sheet1
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
A2:A5A2=IF(OR(ISBLANK(B2),ISBLANK(C2),ISBLANK(D2),ISBLANK(E2)),"Missing Values","Valid Entry")
Cells with Conditional Formatting
CellConditionCell FormatStop If True
B2:E5Cell Value=""textNO
A2:A5Cell Value="Missing Values"textNO
A2:A5Cell Value="Valid Entry"textNO

Upvote 0