Match and Replace Row

JustTrying9

Hi,

I have a report from our data source that shows recently edited records. This could be updates to the company's address, or region, etc. (Sheet1)

I have a master list as well with ALL of our clients (same columns). (Sheet2)

When I pull in the recently edited records, I'd like the master list to update as well with those values.

Column A contains the unique identifier that will never change, and would be the "match" column. There are 22 total columns.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
I am assuming that the report you get with the edited records contains only edited records but all of the 22 columns, regardless of whether all were changed or just some of them. If that is the case, you could use the first row of the master list to put in lookup formulas. you can then use a countif to identify which records have changed (since they will be on the report with edited records). after you identify them, you can filter on those and apply the lookups. all data that has changed will be changed but the rest will be the same.after you apply the formulas you unfilter and paste as values, keeping the first row with formulas unchanged. that way, you can redo the steps for every report you get and should be done in a couple of minutes. it's not completely automated but close-ish?

Upvote 0
That would work well for me, but ultimately I am not the end user. The end user has very limited excel knowledge.

Upvote 0