Mid Function Conditional Formatting - Unusual Behavior

ovm512

Hi to all,

I am a teacher attempting to perform some magic apparently beyond my abilities.
The goal is simple: isolate numeric data found within parentheses in a text string via a formula to then highlight a cell presenting said data within a range. Here is what I have so far:

DOTNUQD

Excel 2016 (Mac) 32 bit
ABC
2C (80%)0.8TRUE

<colgroup><col style="width: 25pxpx"><col><col><col></colgroup><thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet1

Worksheet Formulas
CellFormula
B2=MID([COLOR=rgb(255]A2,SEARCH("(",A2)+1,SEARCH(")",A2)-SEARCH("(",A2)-1[/COLOR])+0
C2=([COLOR=rgb(255]MID(A2,SEARCH([COLOR=0)]"(",A2[/COLOR])+1,SEARCH([COLOR=0)]")",A2[/COLOR])-SEARCH([COLOR=0)]"(",A2[/COLOR])-1)+0[/COLOR])>=0.8

<thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>

My use of the MID formula tests well, presenting TRUE in C2, and this I thought was what I needed to apply conditional formatting rules for the entire sheet. To be successful, the formula in C2 should provide the right formatting rule to pick out the 80 in A2 and so highlight A2.

However, what doesn't appear in the above sample is the highlighted cell resulting from pasting the formula in C2 into a formatting rule (a rule created with the entire sheet selected, FYI). Such a rule highlights B1 and only B1 (!). [Side note, I used the Forum Tools Add In to insert my cells into this post, but it didn't capture the formatting.] So, my formula fails to pick out target data in A2 and results in a seemingly random, empty cell being highlighted. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
When you use CF formula the formula should reference the top left cell of the range its being applied to. Your formula would work if being applied to A2:A10 for example.

Upvote 0
Hi,