Missing values per case

iotapsi321

Hello! I am new to excel and have learned a lot from these messages boards and hope to keep the learning momentum going.

I have a large dataset with over 25k rows and hundreds of columns. I would like to delete rows (participants) who have over 50% missing values per variables. Each column reflects an item for a variable. For most variables, the sum of 4-5 consecutive columns (items) constitutes a variable. So in the case of a 4 item variable, I would like delete rows in where there is no value for 3 or more items. Any guidance you can provide would be a huge help.

The list of the variables and the data are in sheet 1. The variables are in the first row and the data begin in A2. Thank you so much for your help.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
But I mean this list:

RelAttend
Religious
Spiritual
Dep
Anx
Combat
Hmechng
DA
Dplyexp
Stress
Relation
DplyRel
Discrim
Unit
StressExp

<tbody>
</tbody>

I need to know if you have 2 sheets, one sheet with the data and another sheet with the list of variables.

Please Note
-----------------------