More efficient way of capitalizing all cells in a range

naahS

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I'm very new to VBA so apologies if this is a simple question. I was using a macro to capitalize all strings in two ranges. The current code I'm using looks like this:

VBA Code:
Dim x As Range

For Each x In SuppliesList.Range("B" & FilledRows + 1, "C" & SourceRows + FilledRows)
 x.Value = UCase(x.Value)
Next

For Each x In SuppliesList.Range("J" & FilledRows + 1, "O" & SourceRows + FilledRows)
 x.Value = UCase(x.Value)
Next

This loops through every cell and capitalizes them individually, which doesn't seem very efficient. I am concerned about speed as I wanted to run this on many workbooks within a folder, so any gains in processing time are multiplied. Is there a way to write this macro so that it instead looks at the entire range at once and capitalizes everything in a single action? Would this actually make the macro run meaningfully faster?

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Untested so test on a copy of your data

VBA Code:
Sub capitals1()
Dim MyRng1 As Range, MyRng2 As Range

Set MyRng1 = SuppliesList.Range("B" & FilledRows + 1, "C" & SourceRows + FilledRows)
Set MyRng2 = SuppliesList.Range("J" & FilledRows + 1, "O" & SourceRows + FilledRows)

MyRng1 = Evaluate("INDEX(UPPER(" & MyRng1.Address(External:=True) & "),)")
MyRng2 = Evaluate("INDEX(UPPER(" & MyRng2.Address(External:=True) & "),)")

End Sub

Upvote 0
Solution
Hi and welcome to MrExcel!

SuppliesList.Range("B" & FilledRows + 1, "C" & SourceRows + FilledRows)
SuppliesList.Range("J" & FilledRows + 1, "O" & SourceRows + FilledRows)

I don't understand the logic of how you structure the range of cells, but if it works for you with that data, try the following macro, it processes the information in memory and then puts the results in a single output.

Try this:

VBA Code: