Msgbox when cell value reaches and passes a certain value.

Batty0810

Hi all,

I am relatively new to Excel VBA coding and i have created a cricket scoring workbook. Everything is working excellently and now i am adding a few things that will make the scorebook more interesting and informative.

My question is this: When a player reaches milestones, like 50 runs, 100 runs etc, i would like a msgbox to popup with the relavent info (ie - "50 Runs" or "100 Runs").

If i use the following code, the msgbox pops up all the time:

If Cells(6,3).value = 50 then
msgbox "50 Runs"
Elseif Cells(6,3).value = 51 then
msgbox "50 Runs"
etc etc.

The scoring works like this:
A player can score anything from 1 to 6 runs off one ball, so a player can pass the 50-run mark by moving from 49 to 50, or from 48 to 52 or 47 to 53 or from 49 to 55.

What i would like to do is for a msgbox to appear just once when the player passes the 50 mark or the 100 mark etc.

I have seen this appear in other scoring applications but cannot figure out what the coding is to make this happen.

Your help and assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
My question is this: When a player reaches milestones, like 50 runs, 100 runs etc, i would like a msgbox to popup with the relavent info (ie - "50 Runs" or "100 Runs").

If i use the following code, the msgbox pops up all the time:

If Cells(6,3).value = 50 then
msgbox "50 Runs"
Elseif Cells(6,3).value = 51 then
msgbox "50 Runs"
etc etc.

The scoring works like this:
A player can score anything from 1 to 6 runs off one ball, so a player can pass the 50-run mark by moving from 49 to 50, or from 48 to 52 or 47 to 53 or from 49 to 55.

What i would like to do is for a msgbox to appear just once when the player passes the 50 mark or the 100 mark etc.