artofchemistry

Hi all

I've been using multi-conditional array formulas to extract specific data from multiple tabs in a spreadsheet that meet certain criteria. They work absolutely perfect, however, they require so much processing power that I've had to switch from automatic to manual calculations for the entire workbook.

I work in the engineering industry so my application is a bit more complicated than the dataset below, but I'll just use this as a simple example.

Looking at the data-set, what I would want to calculate is, for example, the average income for employees whose postcode is between 2200 and 2500 AND who's age is less than 50. This is pretty easy to do with an '{=AVERAGE(IF((postcode>2200)*(postcode<2500)*(age<50),(INCOME)))}' where the words are just the cell-ref arrays.

Employee NamePet's NameIncomePostcodeAge
AAlpha $ 53,000221545
BBravo $ 74,000231064
CCharlie $ 39,000216521
DDelta $ 98,000294688
EEcho $ 225,000200033
FFoxtrot $ 48,000244546
GCharlie $ 85,000264630

<tbody>
</tbody>

So, my question is, is there a more efficient or less processing intensive way to perform this calculation in excel?

Look forward to any responses.

many thanks :)

For reference, an example of an actual formula I use looks something like this: "=IF(COUNTBLANK(D$9)=1,"",IFERROR(AVERAGE(IF(('Op Data'!$H$6:$EU$6='Summary'!$B18)*('Op Data'!$H$7:$EU$7='Summary'!$C18)*('Op Data'!$H$5:$EU$5='Summary'!D$9)*('Op Data'!$H$1:$EU$1='Summary'!$B$1)*('Op Data'!$H$8:$EU$1398<>0),'Op Data'!$H$8:$EU$1398)),"-"))"

you're welcome

there is a GUI for queries. It is like MS Access's interface. So one can do basic queries without learning SQL.
For example save the file & give the data a simple defined name, like "MyData"