Multiple nested IF STATEMENTS with NESTED VLOOKUP or INDEX?MATCH with LEFT in each nest

rspradley

Hello. Im a bit new to the INDEX and MATCH method and I'm really not sure if thats the best way, or if VLOOKUOP is better, or something else entirely.

I have a workbook with several sheets, the first is "invoice form", this is where the formula is located.
The rest of the sheets coincide with a different categories. These sheets start with 3 numbers such as "101 - PPE", "102 - Soil", and "103 - Oven".

I have the following example:

This is the "Invoice Form" Sheet
Part #Description
101-PART1Formula will go here
102-PART2Formula will go here
103-PART3Formula will go here
104-PART4Formula will go here

<tbody>
</tbody>

This is the "101 - PPE" Sheet
Part NumberPart Description
101-PART1Leather Glove
101-PART2Hard Hat
101-PART3Safety Vest

<tbody>
</tbody>

This is the "102 - Soil" Sheet
Part NumberPart Description
102-PART1Soil Mold
102-PART2Soil Brush
102-PART3Soil Tray

<tbody>
</tbody>

I need the formula to automatically look at the part number in cell A2 on "Invoice Form" and then determine the first 3 digits (Im using LEFT(A2,3). Once it recognizes the first 3 digits, I need it to look at the corresponding SHEET and then search column "A" for the matching part number and return the value in column "B" for the description.

I've tried nested if statements with vlookup and with INDEX/MATCH but I cant seem to get it to work. There are 16 different categories now, so thats a lot of nesting.

Can someone help me with this or even recommend a different approach? I'm in a bit over my skill level with this.

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
It would help if you renamed the category sheets to something consistant, like "Category 101" "Category 102" etc.

Then

=VLOOKUP(A2, INDIRECT("'Category "&LEFT(A2,3)&"'!$A:$B"), 2, FALSE)

could be used.

Upvote 0