Multiple Selection Drop Downs, Multiple Columns - Won't Work When Protected

jhotz88

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello!

I'm new to the VBA world and am running into an issue. I used the below code to get multiple selections from drop downs in multiple columns, but when the sheet is protected I'm only able to select one selection from the drop down. I've tried combing through the posts and Google, but nothing seems to be quite right for this code I'm using or it just does not compute with my brain. Any and all help would be MASSIVELY appreciated!

VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
'Code by Sumit Bansal from https://trumpexcel.com
' To allow multiple selections in a Drop Down List in Excel (without repetition)
Dim Oldvalue As String
Dim Newvalue As String
Application.EnableEvents = True
On Error GoTo Exitsub
If Target.Column = 9 Or Target.Column = 17 Or Target.Column = 18 Or Target.Column = 19 Or Target.Column = 20 Then
  If Target.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeAllValidation) Is Nothing Then
    GoTo Exitsub
  Else: If Target.Value = "" Then GoTo Exitsub Else
    Application.EnableEvents = False
    Newvalue = Target.Value
    Application.Undo
    Oldvalue = Target.Value
      If Oldvalue = "" Then
        Target.Value = Newvalue
      Else
        If InStr(1, Oldvalue, Newvalue) = 0 Then
            Target.Value = Oldvalue & ", " & Newvalue
      Else:
        Target.Value = Oldvalue
      End If
    End If
  End If
End If
Exitsub:
End Sub

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple