Multiple Update Query in Access

Mac1206

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
173
Hello, I'm trying to find a way to combine multiple update queries that are updating one table into a single query and I'm unsure of how to create it...Is there a way to do this and if so can you provide an example please...Thanks for your support...
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,727
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
It really depends on what the queries look like, to see if they can be combined into one query with reasonable effort. Can you post the SQL code of each query?

Note that there is nothing inhererntly wrong with having more than one update query. If the issue is the effort it takes to run them all, you could put them all in a macro, and then simply run that macro with a single click.
 

Mac1206

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
173
That is what we are trying to get away from, so many marco's...

1. UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET BSMTimeTableTemp.ReferenceNumber = [PaymentID], BSMTimeTableTemp.PaymentID = [ReferenceNumber];


2. UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET BSMTimeTableTemp.[1099Code] = "0"
WHERE (((BSMTimeTableTemp.DisbursementType) Like "*Loan*"));


3. UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET BSMTimeTableTemp.InstitutionName = [Institution_FurtherName]
WHERE (((BSMTimeTableTemp.DisbursementMethod) Like "*ACH*" Or (BSMTimeTableTemp.DisbursementMethod) Like "*Wire*"));


4. UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET BSMTimeTableTemp.DistributionType = "*" & [DistributionType]
WHERE (((Right([DisbursementType],1))="*"));
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
75,660
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
You couldn't run those as one query.

Why not create a function that runs the update queries?

You would only need to pass it the database connection and the appropriate SQL string.
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,727
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
That is what we are trying to get away from, so many marco's...
Why not combine them into one Macro?
You can perform multiple steps in a Macro.
Or convert it to VBA code and run all those commands with one procedure (or function, like Norie recommended).
 

stumac

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
471
I agree with the others here that it would be better to run the 4 queries in sequence, however, I think you probably could combine them in one query albeit a somewhat inefficient query:

Code:
UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET PaymentID = [ReferenceNumber], [1099Code] = IIf([DisbursementType]  Like "*Loan*","0",[1099Code]), InstitutionName = IIf([DisbursementMethod] Like "*ACH*" Or [DisbursementMethod] Like "*Wire*",[Institution_FurtherName],[InstitutionName]), DistributionType = IIf(Right([DisbursementType],1)="*","*" & [DistributionType],[DistributionType]);
 
Last edited:

Mac1206

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
173
I'm new ti this so how would I do this, do you have any samples for me to follow....
 

stumac

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
471
Not really sure about the easiest way with a macro - I think just use the open query command 4 times and point to your query (might want to set warnings off & back on to stop the prompts).

code wise:

Code:
With CurrentDb
.Execute "UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET BSMTimeTableTemp.PaymentID = [ReferenceNumber]", dbFailOnError
.Execute "UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET [1099Code] = '0' WHERE DisbursementType Like ' * Loan * ' ", dbFailOnError
.Execute "UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET InstitutionName = [Institution_FurtherName] WHERE DisbursementMethod Like '*ACH*' Or DisbursementMethod Like '*Wire*'", dbFailOnError
.Execute "UPDATE BSMTimeTableTemp SET DistributionType = ' * ' & [DistributionType] WHERE Right([DisbursementType],1)='*'", dbFailOnError
End With


MsgBox "Complete"
Either add this to a new sub routine within a module or assign it to a button on a form (this would be normal practice). Create a new command button, go to properties for it and on the event tab select the 3 dots beside on click. Select code builder and then paste the code above between the sub & end sub lines.
 
Last edited:

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,727
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Not really sure about the easiest way with a macro - I think just use the open query command 4 times and point to your query
Exactly. It is as simple as starting a new Macro, and using the OpenQuery command four times, once opening each query. Then to run all of them in sequence, all you need to do is to run that Macro.

And you can easily convert that Macro to VBA code, if you want, by selecting it and then clicking on the "Convert Macros to Visual Basic" button in the Macro menu. That is helpful if you want to convert that macro to a procedure or function, or want to make it more dynamic.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,733
Messages
5,488,551
Members
407,646
Latest member
utl1095

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Timer in VBA - Stop, Start, Pause and Reset
    [CODE=vba][/CODE] Option Explicit Dim CmdStop As Boolean Dim Paused As Boolean Dim Start Dim TimerValue As Date Dim pausedTime As Date Sub...
  • how to updates multiple rows in muliselect listbox
    Hello everyone. I need help with below code. code is only chaning 1st row in mulitiselect list box. i know issue with code...
  • Delete Row from Table
    I am trying to delete a row from a table using VBA using a named range to find what I need to delete. My Range is finding the right cell. In the...
  • Assigning to a variable
    I have a for each block where I want to assign the value in column 5 of the found row to the variable Serv. [CODE=vba] For Each ws In...
  • Way to verify information
    Hi All, I don't know what to call this formula, and therefore can't search. I have a spreadsheet with information I want to reference...
  • Active Cell Address – Inactive Sheet
    How to use VBA to get the cell address of the active cell in an inactive worksheet and then place that cell address in a location on the current...
Top