Multiple values in a single cell

gilteetoo

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here

I regularly receive a spreadsheet which include merchandise orders in a column. However, if two or more items are ordered by a customer, the data is all added into a single cell in the row corresponding to their name. I then need to extract the data for individual items, which may include not only a number but also size (e.g. socks 2, shorts 1 L, singlet 1 M) to enable an order to be sent to the manufacturer.

Can anyone help with a solution for extraction the data into individual orders that can then be used to create an order.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Excel Joke
Why can't spreadsheets drive cars? They crash too often!
The ease of this will depend if there is a delimiter between items that is used consistently. Typically it is a comma, as you have shown above, if however it is just a space, then it is more tedious to tease out the individual items.

You also need to say whether you want the result in columns or in rows, and the maximum number of items that are likley to be presented this way is also useful information that will assist those who may be looking to assist you.

Cheers

shane

Last edited:
Upvote 0
The ease of this will depend if there is a delimiter between items that is used consistently. Typically it is a comma, as you have shown above, if however it is just a space, then it is more tedious to tease out the individual items.

You also need to say whether you want the result in columns or in rows, and the maximum number of items that are likley to be presented this way is also useful information that will assist those who may be looking to assist you.

Cheers

shane

Thanks Shane,

There could be up to 7 individual items and I would like the results in rows. An example of the data is:
[FONT=&quot]- ID: 4699cd9be3519a0be, Name: Club Socks, Price: $10.00, Qty: 1[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]- ID: 3041b4ad36c36d03c, Name: Club Shorts S, Price: $25.00, Qty: 1[/FONT]