Need a Formula to check format of Specific data

Jac_Perdue

Conditional Formatting cells for text

Hello,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
I am new to this so i apologize if this is already posted... What i am looking to do is conditional format a column to look for several things. <o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
1) most important is that the text is in a specific format (order). example of the format is - G0E1111JJB2L00KL,001510206F7,1100HH003029<o:p></o:p>
2) that the items in the cells are not duplicated. this i can do as long as the data is in the correct format.<o:p></o:p>
if the cell violates either of these rules i would like it to high light bright red<o:p></o:p>
i can set up the cells to see that the data is not duplicated but i am having trouble trying to set them up so that the formatting (order) is correct. some of the text will be the same in all the cells where as some will be different. here is an example of the text that will be the same and what will be different. - G0E########,001######,1100###### (this is not to scale but you get the idea). <o:p></o:p>
is there a way for me to do what i am looking to do? <o:p></o:p>

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Conditional Formatting cells for text

I should have stated that i am useing excel 2010 on an Windows XP machine

Upvote 0
Hello All, <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>