Need some guidance on how to proceed

Bub_the_Zombie

Board Regular
Hello Excel Gurus!

I am still new to coding excel and i am not sure what I want to do is possible; and if it is possible how to start putting it together. This seems like it should be easy, but excel has been fooling me everytime I say that. I really need someone more familiar with excel to tell me how to proceed, and what I should be googling to make this happen.

I have 2 large tables that data is added and deleted throughout the day, and I want the table rows to highlight different colors when a value in a certain cell is present; But also have a way to toggle the highlight on and off.

I am bad at explaining things, below is the technical details that may make this make more sense.

Table 1 has a range of ("F4:X33") (Table 1 header is located ("F3:X3")
Row 34 is blank
Table 2 has a range of ("F36:X45")(Table 2 header is located ("F35:X35")
The data that will trigger the highlight is in column "U" for both tables, column "U" is not used for anything else on the Worksheet.

The data in column U is, and the highlight I would like them to have.
Brad = red highlight
Heather = green highlight
Athena = blue highlight
Tom = Light Gray highlight
""= No highlight

Then a way to turn the highlight on /off.

I am not sure if trying to make this into a toggle button using vba makes more sense, or if writing a formula could preform the function. Which ever one is more practical It needs to auto update as changes happen to the rows throughout the day.

The two tables are almost identical, but need to stay separate for another function that the worksheet needs to do.

Thoughts?

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"
BtZ,

So the whole table row is highlighted if it's U contains one of the four names?