Need to find Unmatched Records more than one column

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
55,916
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
If you are going to post the same question in both the Access and Excel forums, please follow the rules that we have pertaining to Cross-Posting here (rule 13: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/board-announcements/99490-forum-rules.html), namely, mentioning you are doing so and providing links to the other thread. Even though they are both being posted in the same forum, it is the same question posted in two different threads, so it follows the same guidelines.

In regards to your question, I think we need more information, such as:
- how many columns in each table?
- which columns are you matching one (all or just certain ones)?

In these cases, it is often best if you can provide a small example. As they say, a picture often says a thousand words!
 

GOT2018

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
4
Trying to validate data migration from sqlserver 2012 to sql server 2016 (databases)
for example

table A contains 20 columns with >90k records and EMPLOYEEID (PK) - sqlserver 2012
need to validate same data was flowing into sqlserver 2016 Database


1. Is there any possibility to validate data within sql server ?
2. so am exporting table data into excel and trying to validate entire table end to end.

Please suggest is there any way to validate data within sql server ? (2012 vs 2016 )

or excel tips to validate data with 20 columns and 90k records

Thanks
 

xenou

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
16,793
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

In sql server you can use intersect and or except to check for data differences. In Access you have to write a big ugly sql statement.
 

GOT2018

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
4
Xenou

Its two different servers

IF both the databases are in one server, intersect or except could work


validating data in different servers ?

sqlserver 1 (2012)
DATABASE.SCHEMA.TABLEA

sql Server 2 (2016)
DATABASE.SCHEMA.TABLEA

How could you compare data indifferent servers ?

Excel or access tips please
 

xenou

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
16,793
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Assuming you cannot do a cross-server call, and not really knowing what you mean by validate, not sure.

If you are just importing data from one table to another in sql server then you shouldn't expect errors or problems other than human ones (such as not using correct data types in the new table, or forgetting to include a column).

Bad data could also cause problems (such as trying to import data with textual values into a numeric or date column, or trying to put float data into a int column, or importing duplicate data that violates primary key constraints).
 
Last edited:

Arsen01

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
3
hi all, my name is Arsen)) I am a new member here )) thanks for your post , nice to meet you all here, in this web site........
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,518
Messages
5,596,621
Members
414,082
Latest member
sasmita

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top