need to move data to another worksheet

Jerk24

Board Regular
I have a Sheet called Master... which is a report with 9 task. is there a way to move each task to another sheet that is named for that task... the names are shortened to the two Words because of size restrictions.

the task name is in D:D (the lengh of the report is longer some weeks)
i need the whole row to copy over

any ideas?

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Hi Jerk24. Try this macro. It will copy the rows and not delete them from your "Master" sheet. If you want to delete them from the "Master", add this line:
Code:
rng.EntireRow.Delete
below this line:
Code:
 rng.EntireRow.Copy Sheets(ws.Name).Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0
)
Code:
Sub CopyRows()
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    Dim bottomD As Integer
    bottomD = Range("D" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
    Dim rng As Range
    Dim ws As Worksheet
    For Each rng In Range("D2:D" & bottomD)
        For Each ws In Sheets
            If rng = ws.Name Then
                rng.EntireRow.Copy Sheets(ws.Name).Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0)
            End If
        Next ws
    Next rng
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Upvote 0
Getting a Object required error.

not sure what the cause is... and I did add that line-- since ideally if it is copied over (or cut in this instance) what is left I will need to look at.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Which line is being highlighted?

Upvote 0
It is just a text box that tells me the error. but when i open VBA (or step-into the macro) Sub CopyRows() is highlighted

is there something that should tell the code to look for only the first part of the task name?

Upvote 0