Nested IF function to ignore blank cells

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15
Hi,

I am currently using the following formula, but due to the size of the spreadsheet now I would to drag the formula down the page without it populating the rows that are blank. Please can anyone help?

=IF(O10="",X10,IF(X10="",O10+Q10+S10))

Cheers

Richard
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.

jasonb75

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
11,942
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Use a filter to hide the blank rows, when you drag down only visible rows are populated.
 

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15
Thanks for the response, but I would like the formula in the blanks cells for future input I just don't want anything displayed in it i.e. £ - as I am using the accountancy setting.
 

jasonb75

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
11,942
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Try

=IF(count(O10,Q10,S10,X10),IF(O10="",X10,IF(X10="",O10+Q10+S10)),"")

That will only return a result if at least one of those cells holds a number.
 

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15

ADVERTISEMENT

Worked a treat, don't really understand how it made it work, but thanks very much for your assistance.
 

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15
Worked a treat, don't really understand how it made it work, but thanks very much for your assistance.
 

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15

ADVERTISEMENT

I need an alternative formula if possible as this disrupts other formulas that read this cell.

Any suggestions?
 

jasonb75

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
11,942
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
What do you want displayed in the cells for the blank rows?

Please give an example formula that is being disrupted.

Also looking again at your original formula, it appears that of the cells X10 and O10, 1 should hold a value (numeric) and the other should be empty, but what should be shown in the case that both are blank, or both hold a value?
 

Ralley

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
15
I'm struggling to explain, I've tried posting a screen shot, but it doesn't seem to work.

Having said that I may have found the source of my disruption. I have a formula;

=IF(A10,O10+Q10+S10+U10+Z10,"")

The issue is A10 contains text, is there a command I can enter to complete the formula? Again the formula needs to be dragged so I don't want it to calculate when there are blank cells in column A.

The text in Column A is a ref no, so changes on each entry.

Does this make sense?
 

Mr.Daines

Board Regular
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
106
I'm struggling to explain, I've tried posting a screen shot, but it doesn't seem to work.

Having said that I may have found the source of my disruption. I have a formula;

=IF(A10,O10+Q10+S10+U10+Z10,"")

The issue is A10 contains text, is there a command I can enter to complete the formula? Again the formula needs to be dragged so I don't want it to calculate when there are blank cells in column A.

The text in Column A is a ref no, so changes on each entry.

Does this make sense?
=IF(A10<>"",O10+Q10+S10+U10+Z10,"")

HTH

I think thats what you mean, can you clarify further if example above doesnt give you what you need.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,608
Messages
5,597,143
Members
414,129
Latest member
mr vba

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top