Nested if loop

hskis

Hello, I am relatively new to VBA and am making a tool for work. In this particular part I am trying to pull the correct email from the sheet 'Active Contacts' by first looking for an exact match, then an exact match of the next column over (another contact name), then approximate match in the same order. The loop is supposed to bring the nestedif formula down and stop when there is no more data in the column (4). Right now the first cell is getting solved but the loop isn't moving down, it stays at Range("E3"). Let me know what I can do, thank you!

Code:
Sub NestedIFDYN()
    Range("E3").Select
    Dim i As Integer
    i = 3
    Do While Cells(i, 4).Value <> ""
    If ActiveCell.Formula = "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[2],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,FALSE)<>0" Then
        ActiveCell.Formula = _
            "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[2],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,FALSE)"
    ElseIf ActiveCell.Formula = "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[3],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,FALSE)<>0" Then
        ActiveCell.Formula = "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[3],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,FALSE)"
    Else
        ActiveCell.Formula = "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[2],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,TRUE)"
    End If
    i = i + 1
    Loop
End Sub
[End Code]

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
Welcome to the Board!

Change all your references of ActiveCell to Cells(i,4)
And you can get rid of the first line, selecting E3

Upvote 0
Thank you! I chose to reference Cells(i,5). The Loop is working now except it's returning only the last line: Formula = "=VLOOKUP('Enter Data'!R[-1]C[2],'Active Contacts'!R1:R1048576,2,TRUE)". It's now a problem with the Nested if statement. The goal of the nested if is to move onto the next rule if the vlookup returns a 0 or a #N/A but I know it shouldn't have just gone straight to the last option. Let me know if you can help.

Code:
Sub NestedIFDYN()