NEW from "Help! Formulas Disappearing After Every Save" (from 2020)

corentint

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone.

No offence, but sometime I find some of the follow-up questions to a query, not to mention some of the answers, derisive and patronizing.

I follow up here on the longtime ago (2020) question above. (this Thread)

But first, some background:
  1. I have been using extensively Excel for 25 years and my files are all xlsm (with the odd special file format xlsb sometimes)
  2. I have the latest updated Excel version of Office 365 ( Microsoft® Excel® pour Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2207 Build 16.0.15427.20182) 64 bits ))
  3. I operate under W10 , Version 21H2 sub version 19044.1766 (this might be old by a few days, updates are constrained by week on my PC for sanity reasons).
  4. I have a reasonably fast and modern computer, and, at any rate, Excel is super fast on it.
  5. I have been programming VBA for my excel work, for almost 15 years. I consider myself no pro, but fluent (last program made contains upward of 5000 lines of code excluding comments).
And here is the simple problem, not exactly as in 2020, but still immensely odd and frustrating:
  1. I write in an Excel sheet the follow formula, at the end, but outsidethe named range :
    1. =Max(TotMEB). The named range contains only numeric values. It gives the right answer.
    2. About 5 columns to the right, I write another such: =Max(TotColor) (again outside the named range, all numerics in the range).
    3. Both cells containing the formulae are named ranges consisting of the one only cell. (as a matter of fact, around 95% of cells used in my Excel sheets are named ranges - much more flexible).
    4. Immediately, if I go back to my original formula =Max(TotMEB), I find it replaced by the result as value in the cell that had the formlae!
    5. The format of all cells is the standard form; I do not detect any caracter impeding the formula, which start with =