OneStopShop Timetracking Worksheet - Help with Data Entry

Bette980

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hey there,

first of all I wanted to say thank you for all the great pieces of advice in this community. I was able to solve some major pains I have come across while working on my excel projects and I am amazed that I continue to learn everyday, even though I am not a techie. ?

However, I have actually stumbled over a problem I was not able to solve:

I plan to create a one-stop-shop timetracking sheet for my project employees.

So far I was able to successfully implement a "rolling" calendar week/work day calendar which automatically switches according to the year of the project.

I was also able to figure out how to "jump" to the column with today's date by the click of a button.

Now comes the kicker: in my vision, as I work with complete dinosaurs when it comes to explanations/instructions on how to use a tool, I want to make it as simple as possible.
For this, I would like to have a dropdown with all the names of the employees that dynamically alters the document at hand.
This means that once an employee selects his/her name, the table dynamically changes and the historic data given by this person for each day is shown as well as the possibility to enter data for this user only.

What I had in mind as a solution was that once the name in the dropdown is selected, excel draws the data from another (let's call it RAW_DATA) sheet which I can hide, so people won't have to bother (and don't destroy it in the process). It would also write in this employee's table in the RAW_DATA sheet, once any time is tracked). How could I best achieve this? Is this more of a task for VBA or rather INDEX/INDIRECT?

For better reference: Time data is actually tracked in Range E9:IJ22, the dropdown for the employees is in B6. I could not upload a screenshot because even with the smallest picture, the attachment seemed to be too large.