PDF file type prints Gridlines

Dan Wilson

Active Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2006
Messages
445
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good day. I'm running Excel 2013 on Windows 10. I have been using Excel for 20 years and this is something new to me. I received a worksheet designed to be a form to layout a route for our motorcycle riding club. I do not know who designed this, but I really think it should have been done in Word. There are some interesting things I have never seen before. Cells A1 through E2 are open and contain our club logo. Some of the cells have been merged where necessary. My problem is that the club wants the form added to our website to be available to print out for route creation. The worksheet is an XLSX file type so I elected to create the form in PDF format so that it could be printed out by any one of our members. Creating the PDF file works fine. However, when viewing or printing out the PDF file, the Gridlines also print out. If I print out the XLSX file, the Gridlines do not print. I have tried merging the A1 thru E2 cells which eliminates the Gridlines for that section, but the Gridlines still print for Rows 3 thru 5. There are 40 bordered lines from row 8 thru Row 48 that print out fine. The solution may be very obvious, but I'm willing to learn. Thanks for any suggestions.
Danno...
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).

shg

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
21,782
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
File > Print, Sheet tab -- untick Gridlines?
 

Dan Wilson

Active Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2006
Messages
445
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good day SHG. The problem is that the Gridlines are saved as part of the PDF format. I can print out the XLSX format with no problem by unticking the Show Gridlines option. Once the Gridlines are part of the PDF file, they can't be unticked.
Danno...
 

shg

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
21,782
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Right. You would need to do it before publishing to PDF.
 

Dan Wilson

Active Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2006
Messages
445
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Good day SHG. I did do that and the Gridlines still showed up on the PDF. I'll try it again.
Danno...
 

Dan Wilson

Active Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2006
Messages
445
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
The Gridlines still appear in the PDF file.
Danno...
 

welshgasman

Well-known Member
Joined
May 25, 2013
Messages
871
I have Gridlines off on Excel 2007.
Printing to pdf using Microsoft to Print PDF driver produces a file without gridlines.
Saving the file as a PDF does the same?
 

shg

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
21,782
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I can't duplicate your problem.

As a bandaid you could hide gridlines: File > Options > Advanced, Display options for this worksheet, untick Show gridlines.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,123,323
Messages
5,600,954
Members
414,417
Latest member
Nobu

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top