Performance issue in extracting data from excel file (find folder)

Gary Powers

Hello,

I am new to using query and I am trying to extract data from a report in an excel file (report_1). The first 5 rows in the excel file are irrelevant (report details and caveats) with the information laid out with column headers in row 6.

I have created a query to extract the information from the file as below and I am looking for assistance to improve the performance of the extract as it takes minutes to run. I then want to use this as a reference for further extracts into different tables.

Any help appreciated.

let
Source = Folder.Files("C:\Users\GARYP\Documents\Path1\Path2\Folder1"),
#"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(Source, each Text.StartsWith([Name], "Report_1") and Text.StartsWith([Extension], ".xls")),
#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Filtered Rows", "Custom", each if Text.StartsWith([Extension], ".xlsb") then Excel.Workbook( [Content]) else null),
#"Expanded Custom" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Custom", {"Name", "Data"}, {"Custom.Name", "Custom.Data"}),
#"Filtered Rows1" = Table.SelectRows(#"Expanded Custom", each ([Custom.Name] = "Report_1)),