Please Help! Excel is beating me up BADLY!

Dale7717

Hello,

I'd like to start off by stating that I am by no means an expert with Excel. I know how to use it, but as for creating an intermediate to advanced file I am awful.

I am a nutritionist who creates healthy meal plans for people & I created a simple Excel document to assist me.

It's borderline adequate, but I still have to do a lot of manual calculations & really, I'm sure I can save a whole bunch of time if I had a more comprehensive Excel file to use.

My work requires me to base meals upon specific amounts of calories. Of course, these calories will be comprised of different macro-nutrients (macros) from food. These are then calculated into the correct portion sizes (in grams) to equate to the required calorific intake.

The three macro-nutrients are:

1. Carbohydrates
2. Proteins
3. Fats

For every 1 gram the calorie values would be:

1. Carbohydrate = 4 calories
2. Protein = 4 calories
3. Fat = 9 calories

So for an example:

100g of Avocado = 20g of fat (x9 = 180 calories), 2g of Protein (x4 = 8 calories) and 2g of carbohydrates (x4 = 8 calories).

This means that 100g worth of Avocado would have a total of 196 calories between it's macro values.

When I create a meal plan, I need to ensure that the meals contain the correct amount of carbs, proteins & fats to equal a specific total calorie intake.

So let's say I needed 1000 calories in total.

250 calories from carbs = 62.5g (divided by 4)
500 calories from proteins = 125g (divided by 4)
250 calories from fats = 27g (divided by 9)

I would have to determine what foods and the weight of those foods would equate to those numbers.

I have a list of foods and their macro-nutrient values per 100g which I use to create the meals (please see the attached file).

I colour coded them so GREEN are foods denser in fat, BLUE are denser in carbs & RED are denser in protein.