Please help me simplify my formula

MAP

Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Firstly, I am a novice working with Excel 2010 and using only formulas. I am working on a worksheet to help do a little bookkeeping. I am using the following formula in Column F as "helper cells" to determine what type of transaction is happening so I can have conditional formatting color the cell. If cell in column A was CREDIT, the value assigned to this column F helper cell would be 1... DEBIT would be 2, CHECK would be 3, 9030 would be 4, 4846 would be 5, and if column A cell was empty, the value would be 0 (zero).

=IF(A35="Credit",1,(IF(A35="debit",2,(IF(A35="check",3,(IF(A35="9030",4,(IF(A35="4846",5,0)))))))))

Can you help me simplify it? I know there has to be a better and easier way to do this.

Also, the numbers "9030" and "4846" are not getting recognized... apparently Excel is expecting a particular type of formatting (maybe text), but I seem to be pasting a number (from what the bank's transaction lists provides)

Excel experts, Please help me to get my formula to work and then to help me simplify it.

ABCDEF
Details​
Date
Description
Amount
Type
DEBIT
Thu, Jan 02, 2020​
WELLS BANK
(1,688.64)​
ACH_DEBIT
=IF(A35="Credit",1,(IF(A35="debit",2,(IF(A35="check",3,(IF(A35="9030",4,(IF(A35="4846",5,0)))))))))
CREDIT
Thu, Jan 02, 2020
QuickPay with Zelle payment
1,703.00​
QUICKPAY_CREDIT
CHECK
Mon, Jan 06, 2020​
CHECK 6304
(150.00)​
CHECK_PAID
9030​
Tue, Jul 14, 2020​
WAL-MART #2
(16.02)​
Food & Drink
4846​
Wed, Jul 08, 2020​
EXXONMOBIL 480
(20.00)​
Gas

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
Also, the numbers "9030" and "4846" are not getting recognized
It should be 9030 and 4846, not "9080" and "4846". Numbers should not be enclosed in double inverted commas.