Populate table from another worksheet using vlookup in a loop

markkeith

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
First of all I'm new to VBA and was trying to learn the advantage of using it in Excel.
I have Sheet1 (POS) with blank table that I want to be populated with data from Sheet2 (Records) transcTable when I clicked a button. Source & destination table is NOT same in format & number of columns.
I was trying to loop vlookup (not sure if it's the right way to do) to find Receipt No. from Sheet2 then return all other column data to Sheet1.

POS.jpgRecords.jpg

Here's the code I made so far.
VBA Code:
Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Dim i As Integer
Dim lng As Long
Dim cellx As Range, rowX As Range, numX
Set rowX = Sheet1.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1)

numX = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 1, False)
 If Not IsError(numX) Then
   Range("date").Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 2, False) 'Date
   Range("name").Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 3, False) 'Name

i = 0
   lng = 0
   For Each cellx In Sheet1.Range("C6:C34")
    i = i + 1
    lng = lng + 1
     rowX.Offset(lng - 1).Value = i 'Item Num
     rowX.Offset(lng - 1, 1).Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 4, False) 'Type
     rowX.Offset(lng - 1, 2).Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 5, False) 'Description
     rowX.Offset(lng - 1, 3).Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 6, False) 'Qty
     rowX.Offset(lng - 1, 4).Value = Application.VLookup(Range("receiptNum"), Sheet2.Range("transcTable"), 7, False) 'Unit
   Next cellx
 Else
   MsgBox "Receipt Number doesn't exist!"
 End If

End Sub

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.