Power Query data input+changed columns in original file

Villee

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

Im a beginner with Power Query. So I started to build my query without thinking ahead too much and made a small mess. I think the answer should be easy but after spending a day trying different options and reading help topics I couldn't figure it out.

Problem one:

I have an Excel file with calculations "File A" in location: Desktop\FolderA\FileA.xls

This has normal Excel links in formulas to another workbook/excelfile where I have data, "File B", which contains customer data in various columns and is located in Desktop\FolderB\FileB.xls.

I have created a Power Query using this File B and done 16 Power Steps.

When I get a new client I need to download a new File C run the query which is in File B.

As I understood the Query is saved in the original FileB so how do I "export" the query from the old file and import it to the new File C?

I have managed to "change source" in the File B Query to the new File C which does update the query but the data is then saved in the original File B and not in a new File C.

I would like to have both files saved for future use.

So after you helped me with problem 1 when the data is in File C and updated =>

Problem nr 2.

How do I update the normal excel links when I have done the query update, I do not want the links to point to File B anymore but the the new file? At the moment the excel links are using the whole file path to File B until I refresh the data, after I have refreshed the data it only shows up the filename and not the path.

So basically after I have managed to do my query in File C I want to point my calculation here.

Problem nr 3.

After building the query and being really happy about the results after 16 steps. I decided to make a small change in the inputfile.