Power Query Link for Dropbox

ebjacob1978

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
Hello All
I recently made a bunch of excel sheets connected with each other through power query.
But since I wanted that sheets to be accessed online, I put all those files in DROPBOX folder.
It works fine on my laptop, but when I check from other devices, the link is broken and refresh doesn't work.
I am not good with VB or any coding language. I am good with Excel and but beginner in Power Query.
Please suggest a best way to fix this.
Regards
JACOB Ebanezer

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
It works fine on my laptop, but when I check from other devices, the link is broken and refresh doesn't work.

This is because links between workbooks are not relative but absolute. That's by Microsoft's design.
It means the full file path is used for these types of links. Typically these paths look like this:
Code:
C:\Users\ebjacob1978\Dropbox\WorkBook Example.xlsx

Although you can also access these files directly in the cloud, a path to such a file looks much different, something like this:
Code:
https://www.dropbox.com/scx/fw/lvjkrvuf4kr3koxrqfjq13/WorkBook%20Example.xlsx?context=browse&role=personal
and in dropbox's local network a path could look like this:
Code:
\\dropbox.svr\clientse\ebh-ebk\ebjacob1978\Workbook Example.xlsx

I don't think the following will help for Android mobile devices, but for Windows machines it may be advisable to move the local dropbox folder in such a way that it has the exact same path on every machine, so user profile independent, for example:
Code:
C:\Shared\DropBox

So don't work directly in the cloud but with your local files within dropbox's folder. After synchronization you also have the most current versions on other devices.

Hope this helps.

Upvote 0
I changed the dropbox location to D drive