Power Query or DAX for Calendar table?

ClaireS

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
DAX newbie here. I see that you can create date tables for Power BI either in Power Query or in DAX. To my mind, the DAX method seems much easier (CALENDARAUTO then add extra columns as needed), but I have also seen it done in Power Query - usually either asking for StartDate and EndDate parameters or with some clever function call to extract these from the data. From my learning, I gather that generating tables and columns is best done "upstream", i.e. in Power Query, but as I say this seems more complicated.

What would be considered best practice - and why?

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
There are different approaches and views. I favour PQ
1. all data prep is in the same place
2. You can cut and paste the code and reuse again, 20 secs to create a calendar table.

if you use DAX the way you describe and there are 20 columns, it is a lot of work each time. You can do it in a DAX table function (in PBI, not Power Pivot), but I just prefer PQ for the reason in point 1.

i literally just copy the table I created here, and change the dates.

Upvote 0
Solution
There are different approaches and views. I favour PQ
1. all data prep is in the same place
2. You can cut and paste the code and reuse again, 20 secs to create a calendar table.

if you use DAX the way you describe and there are 20 columns, it is a lot of work each time. You can do it in a DAX table function (in PBI, not Power Pivot), but I just prefer PQ for the reason in point 1.

i literally just copy the table I created here, and change the dates.
Thank you so much. Yes, I think point 1 is the key here. Point 2 less so, because you can copy and paste DAX just as easily as PQ! I shall certainly work through your excellent article - and maybe make some of the adjustments suggested in the comments.