Power Query to combine multiple tables on single sheet into Master Table

rkaczano

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi I am new to Power Query. I need to do the following. I have data that is represented on 1 sheet that is represented as repeating tables that are identical. The data goes left to right (columns) n time (1 to 24) with multiples rows for records. This table then repeats itself for different days in rows. So in effect I have hourly data (columns) per record (rows) per day but the daily data sets are broken into separate repeating tables.

Note the data is publicly available if that helps. I have attached an image of how the data currently looks.

I want to:
1) merge or combine all the separate daily tables
2) transpose so the hours are now in rows, and all the records are now in columns
3) Create column headers based on: Entity ID, Asset Type and Asset ID
4) each daily table has a date header in a single cell and I need to create a new date column for that daily date (i.e. (01/01/2020) that increments by hour
01/01/2020/ : 01
01/01/2020/ : 02
01/01/2020/ : 24
etc
01/02/2020/ : 01
01/02/2020/ : 02
01/02/2020/ : 024

Thank-you

Attachments

• Power Query Example.png
    Power Query Example.png
    230.3 KB · Views: 18

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
I have posted again with a pre and post transpose picture.

I want to:
1) Merge or combine all the separate daily tables
2) transpose so the hours are now in rows, and all the records are now in columns
3) Create column headers based on the combined fields for : Entity ID, Asset Type and Asset ID
4) Create a date column based on the single date reference for each table, and then use this to feed separate newly created Year/Month/Day/Hour columns