Problem creating with unique records advanced filter

sokolum

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
34
Hello all,

(WindowsXPsp3, Excel2003)

It seems that there something i am not aware of, or the function isn't working properly.
When i use 'advanced filter' to copy unique records to another column, i still get some duplicated values. What goes wrong here?

Ofcourse, the values are duplicates, copied and past the cells, value = test

(trying to attach the file)
 
Last edited:

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
Are you trying to copy more than one column of data? Records must be entirely unique ie in combination of each column.

Alternatively, if just a single column, do you perhaps have leading/trailing spaces which may prevent otherwise duplicate records from being filtered out?
 

AlphaFrog

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
16,271
Maybe you have a situation where you have a duplicate entry except one of the duplicates has a trailing space at the end of the text. It may "look" like the two entries are duplicates, but in fact they are different because of the space at the end of one of them that you cant see.
 

sokolum

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
34
Here is an example what happens:
(i cant find no option to attach file)

A = the duplicates
B = after i used the advanced filter

<table x:str="" style="border-collapse: collapse; width: 146pt;" width="194" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><col style="width: 48pt;" width="64"> <col style="width: 46pt;" width="61"> <col style="width: 52pt;" width="69"> <tbody><tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt; width: 48pt;" width="64" height="17">
</td> <td class="xl24" style="width: 46pt;" width="61">A</td> <td class="xl24" style="width: 52pt;" width="69">B</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">1</td> <td>test</td> <td>test</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">2</td> <td>test</td> <td>test</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">3</td> <td>aaa</td> <td>aaa</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">4</td> <td>aaa</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">5</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">6</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">7</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">8</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">9</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">10</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> <tr style="height: 12.75pt;" height="17"> <td class="xl24" style="height: 12.75pt;" x:num="" height="17">11</td> <td>test</td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
 
Last edited:

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707

ADVERTISEMENT

That's because the data you are trying to filter must have a header row - in the case you highlight cell A1 is acting as your header row. Just make sure you have a genuine header then you will realise it isn't actually a duplicate.
 

sokolum

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
34
That's because the data you are trying to filter must have a header row - in the case you highlight cell A1 is acting as your header row. Just make sure you have a genuine header then you will realise it isn't actually a duplicate.
Well thank you! I was already confused by results of it.
 

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
Hopefully this explains it better:
Excel Workbook
ABCD
1What you have:What Excel sees:results of Unique Filter
2Test===Header row (ie not part of data to be filtered)Test===header!!!
3Test=dataTest=unique data
4Test=dataSummat Else=unique data
5Summat Else=data
6Test=data
7Summat Else=data
8Test=data
9
10
11
12Try it again but with explicit header:
13This is my header===Header row (ie not part of data to be filtered)This is my header===header!!!
14Test=dataTest=unique data
15Test=dataSummat Else=unique data
16Test=data
17Summat Else=data
18Test=data
19Summat Else=data
20Test=data
Sheet1
Excel 2002
 

sokolum

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
34
Hopefully this explains it better:
Your 1st explanation was already fully understandable.
But nevertheless it's interesting to know how this function works in more detail, ty.

I just have to take this in consideration, not a real problem in my calculation when it takes the 1st cell too. But now i understand why it didn't worked when the 1st cell had no any value. Advanced Filter needs to get the first cell.
 

Subscribe on YouTube

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,106,774
Messages
5,513,357
Members
408,948
Latest member
robertjohn18

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Sort code advice please
    Hi, I have the code below which im trying to edit but getting a little stuck. This was the original code which worked fine,columns A-F would sort...
  • SUMPRODUCT with nested If statement
    Hi everyone, Hope you're all well. I'm hoping someone will be able to point me in the right direction with a problem I'm having with a SUMPRODUCT...
  • VBA - simple sort is killing me!
    Hello all! This should be so easy, but not for me, apparently! I have a table of data that can be of varying lengths and widths. My current macro...
  • Compare Two Lists
    I have two Lists and I need to be able to Identify differences between them. List 100 comes from a workbook - the other is downloaded form the...
  • Formula that deducts points for each code I input.
    I am trying to create a formula that will have each student in my class start at 100 points and then for each code that I enter (PP for Poor...
  • Conditional formatting formula required for day of week and a value
    Hi, I have a really simple spreadsheet where column A is the date, column B is the activity total shown as a number and column C states the day of...
Top