Problem with VLOOKUP query

dpbarry

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Folks..

I have a spreadsheet with 121 Pupil Names (in format Surname, Forename) (Column A - sorted alphabetically) and Previous School (Column B).

I have another couple of columns that assist in generating a randomised list of the 121 names and put it in Column E.

All works so far up to this point in that the names are all jumbled up

The teacher then asked me if I could also put the previous school into another Column (F) beside the randomised names so I thought I'd use VLOOKUP and I thought I had it working as it was putting the previous school names in BUT, when I studied closed, some of the school names were correct but some were not and I can't figure out why - probably something simple!!.

Basically I asked it to vlookup the name in the randomised cell with the list in Columns A and return the relevant value in Column B. As I say, some are correct but some aren't.

Could anyone assist in guiding me as to what I'm doing wrong.

Many thanks

Declan

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
What's the formula you are using? Are you specifying the 4th VLOOKUP argument as FALSE?

Upvote 0
What's the formula you are using? Are you specifying the 4th VLOOKUP argument as FALSE?

At moment, I've tackled it from another angle using INDEX - MATCH to see how that works. Teacher just checking the values.

It didn't matter whether I included false or left it out, same results.

Is it still possible to post a snippit of my spreadsheet?

Declan

Upvote 0
You can post tables using the usual tools, but it could help if you started by posting the formula you are using. ;) VLOOKUP and INDEX/MATCH will not return different results for the same inputs, assuming they are set up the same.

Upvote 0
Cheers Rory.