Programming language other than VBA

saadn

Hi all,

By profession, I am an accountant and auditor. I have recently started to learn VBA coding to help with my job and have found it to be really beneficial, which of course working with Excel on a day to day basis I would. I'm still learning it and have no intention of stopping.

What I also want to do alongside learning VBA is learn another programming language, although I am unsure which one.

The reason for learning another language, alongside VBA, is not just to assist me in my current career. I want to be able to develop apps for mobile phones and/or windows/mac. These could range from business apps to fitness or other, and maybe even games. Just want that skill-set to be able to do such.

I know there are many languages out there but I am struggling to decide on which one to invest my time and energy into. I started Java today but on second thought have decided to seek advice as I don't want to waste my time to find out I can't do what I want. Although I want to be able to develop apps, in case I can't think of anything unique to create, I want to at least be able to use those new language skills in my career so my time hasn't gone to waste.

So in short, which language would you recommend that will assist me in my career and aid me in developing apps for phones, mainly Android, and mac/windows operating systems?

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
The official language for Android development is Java : -->> I want to develop Android Apps - What languages should I learn?

10 Most Popular Programming Languages Today | Inc.com

"3. C