Public variable value not being shared by other modules

ecchahine

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi guys. I'm fairly new to VBA and I'm having a small problem here. On a certain project I'm working on I have declared a couple of public Boolean variables. The value of this variable is consistent inside the same module, but if for example I change the value of Public x as Boolean to True in module1 macro1 and try to print its value in module2 macro2 the message will be empty. Any ideas?

Here's a small example:

Public macro As Boolean

Private Sub Workbook_Open()

macro = True
End Sub

' In a different Module

Sub Test()
MsgBox macro
End Sub

The msgbox will be empty. (I used the msgbox just to illustrate the fact that the value isn't being passed on)

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
Welcome to the Forum!

This should work as intended.

Does this happen when you run the code from Excel, or when you are playing around in the VB editor, perhaps stopping and starting the code?

Have you declared macro anywhere else in your code?

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Forum!

This should work as intended.

Does this happen when you run the code from Excel, or when you are playing around in the VB editor, perhaps stopping and starting the code?

Have you declared macro anywhere else in your code?
I tried stopping and restarting the code, also quitting excel, restarting the OS, nothing. And yes I only declared it once. It's so weird.